Oh! That is commendable! :p

Image

I am slowly changing my reaction to this, trust me, sucking at taking compliments is a nightmare! I don’t know exactly when I started giving this importance, but it seems to me that the sooner it struck me the better!

I personally find it very easy and natural to eulogize, it’s something I seldom think about. Small observations like a friend with a new bag, or someone who has achieved something awesome, it’s never difficult for me to mould my feelings into words as a deliberate action. It just happens, with the flow of my thoughts! I wish I possessed the same mechanism while taking compliments too.

I truly believe that it’s an art, taking praises. It requires just the perfect balance of elegance and modesty. The person complimenting you shouldn’t feel ignored, or to the contrary, sorry for flattering you.

Image

The fact that I am making a big deal out of it is because my encounters with compliments usually turn rather embarrassing for me. If, god forbid, someone catches me off guard (read: ALWAYS!) and admires me saying, ‘Oh you look nice today!’ I become tongue tied or probably blurt out a lame reaction like-‘Oh shut up! You look amazing!’ or probably would not even acknowledge the statement and start discussing a totally unrelated topic. The sad part is I realize my stupidity moments after this, but cannot do anything about it!

How difficult is it to say a simple and gracious ‘Thank YOU!’ no, it’s not difficult at all, but somehow they become the hardest words to say at that critical moment.

Image

I know, for many of you, it is pretty easy to take praises and I have the utmost admiration for you and your capability (YES, it is WOW). But at the same time, I’m sure I can find a lot of people having a fear similar to mine-TAKING COMPLIMENTS!

About Surashree

This is Surashree, a simple girl who strives to achieve the Extraordinary.. An avid reader.. music buff ..trying to 'Blog' thoughts.!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh! That is commendable! :p

  1. Madhura says:

    Come on… Time to get over that fear, compliments really are good! Make you go “Wheee” or “yaayyy”. Lets try… Hey Surashree, you write really well! Totally random topics, however do you think of them? And, the pictures are funny!
    i really mean to compliment you by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

